Windows Home Server 2011, yes! … Oh wait, no-no-no-no-no-no!

Today I got an update from our company store that the now released Windows Home Server 2011 is also available there. And I though, “Yes! Let’s go update to more goodness.”

Then I remembered http://arstechnica.com/microsoft/news/2010/11/has-microsoft-just-ruined-windows-home-server.ars

Wait, I was one of these users which primary reason to get Home Server was drive extender. No, I wasn’t polling smaller drive to achieve the capacity of larger drives. I was pooling top-of-the-line TB-large drives to reach a capacity that no hardware offers.

No-no-no-no-no-no! (as Leila would put it), I will not upgrade to Windows Home Server 2011.

Looks like that when the already aging original Windows Home Server will reach its end of life, I’ll have to dump Windows for a more modern storage system like ZFS http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zfs and yes, that mean goodbye Microsoft operating systems.

Microsoft management, you’ve made the call. You prefer to please big PC manufacturers like Dell. Hey that’s fine, that’s were you make your money after all right? Just that enthusiasts like me will move on to greener pastures.

Note: The opinions expressed in this post and in my blog in general are only my own private opinion and do not reflect the opinion of my employer.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Microsoft, Ordinateurs et Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Windows Home Server 2011, yes! … Oh wait, no-no-no-no-no-no!

  1. nanegrub says:

    Bon, je n’ai malheureusement pas compris grand chose à ton billet; l’anglais n’est vraiment pas ma tasse de thé 😦 mais BRAVO pour la photo mise en bandeau sur ton blog. La miss toute barbouillée est du plus bel effet 🙂 Mignonne à croquer !

Leave a Reply

