Tethering

While riding the bus back home I was reading work e-mail on my smart phone and thought of a simple task I wanted to kick-off on my work computer to get done overnight. I do not have cellular network connectivity on my laptop, and can’t use my smart phone to remote into my work computer, so I thought of using my phone as a modem for my laptop. Others have thought of the same before, and even given it a name – or stole an existing name for the purpose -: Tethering.

A tether, tells me free online dictionaries, is something like a rope or a chain by which an animal is fastened so that it can range only within a set radius. (I am not liking said dictionaries here because they are overwhelmed by Ads I don’t whish my readers to have to endure). So it seems here the tether is between the cellphone and the laptop, although I am not quite sure which is the animal and which is the post. I can imagine a number of puns on that…

Tethering didn’t actually accomplish what I wanted to do however. While I could get “on the internet” for the purpose of internet browsing, I could not use such setup, which relies on proxy settings, for a remote desktop type of connection (not your basic port 80 protocol).

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Ordinateurs et Internet, Travail, work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tethering

  1. David Markun says:

    Some mobile providers — mine for example — (Virgin Mobile) actively inspect and fliter the traffic that comes from the mobile device to make sure it is not being used for providing connectivity via tethering in ways that the service provider has not been paid for. Even, for example, port 80 traffic if it shows a browser ID that is not the phone’s browser, will lead to the traffic being blocked. I have read somewhat believable claims that a way around this is to use a VPN to tunnel past the mobile provider’s servers to another server that will pass through traffic without the filter of the mobile service provider.

  2. daviburg says:

    Thanks for sharing David M.! Filtering traffic against business-not-approved uses sounds awfully familiar.

    Here’s a pick from two years ago: http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2011/11/european-high-court-rejects-internet-traffic-filtering-as-violation-of-fundamental-rights/

    In the US there is also Comcast slowing down your connection if they feel your usage is not approved (if I recall right they went after peer-to-peer). Not quite cutting it off, but degrading the user experience enough to dissuade its usage.

    US government is a lot friendlier to this type of business practice, while European countries are on the fence, sometimes ruling (or crafting laws) in favor of the business, sometimes ruling in favor of the users.

Leave a Reply

